Saturday, January 4, 2014

2014 Writers Guild of America Nominees

     The Writers Guild of America have announced the original and adapted screenplays that are up for their WGA Awards. Surprise, another snub of the great Coen brothers film Inside Llewyn Davis. What is going on here? Is this too witty and unlikable? Great Coen brothers films usually consist of a loser-like character and an ending that is not always conclusive. That is what to like about their wonderful films. 12 Years a Slave was not eligible. John Ridley's adaptation was fantastic, but rule are rules...I guess. Lone Survivor took that spot in the adapted field. A lot of love for Russell's American Hustle and Dallas Buyers Club. And, keep the love going for the best film of the year, and easily one of the best screenplays, The Wolf of Wall Street. And I really love the nomination for the Before Midnight crew. Great stuff. Pretty close to what I think the Oscars will be like, except 12 Years a Slave will be in there and I hope Inside Llewyn Davis makes it. The awards will be handed out on February 1, 2014. Here is the complete list of original and adapted screenplay nominees. Enjoy.

  • Eric Singer & David O. Russell, American Hustle
  • Woody Allen, Blue Jasmine
  • Craig Borten & Melisa Wallack, Dallas Buyers Club
  • Spike Jonze, Her
  • Bob Nelson, Nebraska
  • Tracy Letts - based on his play, August: Osage County
  • Richard Linklater, Julie Delpy & Ethan Hawke - based on characters created by Richard Linklater & Kim Krizan, Before Midnight
  • Billy Ray - based on the book "A Captain's Duty: Somali Pirates, Navy SEALS and Dangerous Days at Sea by Richard Phillips with Stephan Talty, Captain Phillips
  • Peter Berg - based on the by Marcus Lutrell with Patrick Robinson, Lone Survivor
  • Terence Winter - based on the book by Jordan Belfort, The Wolf of Wall Street

No comments:

Post a Comment